The award

The SFI St. Patrick’s Day Science Medal will be awarded annually to a distinguished Irish scientist, engineer or technology leader living and working in the USA. 

In 2016 the competition was further developed to include a specific award for an industry leader.

Both the industry and academic medals recognize individuals who are not only outstanding in their fields of expertise but who also have demonstrably assisted researchers in Ireland in either academia or industry – via mentorship, supervision, collaboration, industrial development, entrepreneurship or who have made significant contributions to developing the research ecosystem in Ireland.

Past medal recipients

2017 – Prof Adrian Raftery, University of Washington (Academic Medal)
2017 – Dr T. Pearse Lyons, Founder and President of Alltech (Industry Medal)
2016 – Dr Craig Barrett, ex Intel (Industry Medal)
2016 – Prof Séamus Davis, Cornell University (Academic Medal)
2015 – Prof Katherine Fitzgerald, University of Massachusetts
2014 – Dr Garret FitzGerald, University of Pennsylvania


Nominations are now being sought for the 2018 SFI St. Patrick’s Day Science Medal Award.

Nominations must be submitted to by 5pm (Dublin local time) on Friday, October 20th 2017.


Please email or call + 353 1 607 3211 with any queries

Prof Adrian Raftery and Dr T. Pearse Lyons both presented the 2017 SFI St. Patrick’s Day Science Medal by An Taoiseach Enda Kenny  in Washington DC on the 15th of March 2017